یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

در این وبلاگ میتوانید زبان انگلیسی را بیاموزید
یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

در این وبلاگ میتوانید زبان انگلیسی را بیاموزید

Pakistan Used to Be Part of British India

Pakistan Used to Be Part of British India



Download audio file (lahore.mp3)


Mark: You were born in Lahore?
Indian Lady: Lahore. It is now Pakistan.
Mark: At that time it was India.
Indian Lady: It was India.
Mark: Ok. And your whole family moved over here?
Indian Lady: No. My maternal grandparents were there so my mother must have gone there for having me. (to have me)
Mark: To Pakistan?
Indian Lady: To India. At that time it was India. That is how I was born there.
Mark: Ok. So when did you come here to Delhi?
Indian Woman: We were never in Pakistan as such. My family, my father was raised in Delhi.
Mark: Ok. Ok.
Indian Lady: My maternal grandfather was in Lahore.
Mark: I see. I see.
Indian Woman: So that is how mother used to go there.
Mark: So you have always lived here?
Indian Lady: Yes.
Mark: And you said you grew up in this book shop.
Indian Woman: Exactly this place this shop. My father owned it and I spent my childhood playing in this shop. (laughs)
Mark: But also you lived in Japan?
Indian Woman: Yes. My husband was posted there so that took me to Japan for four years.
Mark: In Tokyo?
Indian Lady: In Tokyo.
Mark: What was your impression of Japan?
Indian Woman: They are over-polite.
Mark: Over-polite?
Indian Woman: You seldom get to see (the inside of) their houses. They will stand in the roadside and talk to you.
Mark: Uh-hm.
Indian Woman: And, well, you couldn’t make friends that easily.
Mark: Mm.
Indian Woman: I was playing tennis so tennis made me make many friends there. You know when you are playing tennis whether you knew the language or not …
Mark: It doesn’t matter.
Indian Lady: You were making friends all right. I played a lot of tennis in Japan…. And then the food was a problem for me. I am a vegetarian.
Mark: Right ok.
Indian Lady: So there was hardly anything you could get there; I could get there. Even if I went out for dinners and all, I used to have my food kept at home for me because I would come back hungry.
Mark: They eat a lot of seafood too.
Indian Woman: I don’t eat seafood either.
Mark: Me either. I don’t eat seafood either . It is difficult.
Indian Lady: That was difficult.
Mark: Did you live in any other countries?
Indian Woman: Singapore.
Mark: For very long?
Indian Woman: For five years.
Mark: You said your husband was posted. He was working for a company?
Indian Woman: He was working for the Trade Development Authority of India. He was working here and he was posted there.
Mark: Ah. For the government.
Indian Woman: Looking after the trade promotion. Like their Jetro.
Mark: I see. Oh their Jetro ok…..I have to catch a bus to Manali so I have to run. Thanks for talking to me.
Indian Woman: You are welcome.
Mark: Bye-bye.
Indian Woman: Bye-bye.

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد