یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

در این وبلاگ میتوانید زبان انگلیسی را بیاموزید
یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

یادگیری زبان انگلیسی

در این وبلاگ میتوانید زبان انگلیسی را بیاموزید

Sinking Feeling

Niagara Falls

Downloads


To take away:



The script for this programme



Li: Hello and welcome to The English We Speak. I'm Li.

Neil: And I am Neil. Li, let me tell you about this strange dream I had yesterday… we weren't here. We were somewhere else, in another country…

(Sound of dreamy music)

Neil: We were lucky to find these cheap tickets and fly here to the United States, weren't we? This is a wonderful place, Li.

Li: Yes, this is a wonderful place!

Neil: …where we found a boat and decided to sail on this river! Blue sky, blue water… Don't you feel at one with nature, Li?

Li: Of course, yes, I do feel in harmony with nature. But we've been sailing for a while now and I'm not sure where we are… Where are we, Neil?

Neil: I'm not sure either. What I can say is that… this boat is rocking a lot, isn't it? …

Li: Yes, but it must be normal.

Neil: … and I must confess I'm not a very strong swimmer…

Li: Don't think about it Neil, just admire the view.

Neil: But I have a sinking feeling!

Li: A sinking feeling Neil?! What's going on? Are your feet wet? Can you see water coming into the boat?

Neil: No, there's no water in the boat. Having a sinking feeling is what you say in English when you realise something bad is happening or about to happen.

Examples
Man 1: I bought shares in that company but the stock market has just crashed! I have a sinking feeling that I've lost all my money!
Woman: The meal in this restaurant was very tasty but I have a sinking feeling that I've forgotten my wallet at home and I don't have money to pay the bill!
Man 2: Oh the main player in the team has just got a red card! I've a sinking feeling that my team is going to lose this match!


Li: So, what is this sinking feeling that you have, Neil? If it's not the boat, what is it?

Neil: Well, while we were admiring the view a few minutes ago I saw a sign over there on the bank of the river that said: Niagara Falls. I've heard this name somewhere and I don't think it's good. I don't remember why but…

Li: What?! Niagara Falls! Did you say that? It has a vertical drop of some 50 metres, Neil! Do you know that?

Neil: Yes, now I remember! I saw it in a movie! I have a sinking feeling! Grab this life jacket, Li!

Li: Thank you. Now I have a sinking feeling too!

Neil: Here we goooooooooooooooo!

Li: Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

(Sound of alarm clock)

Neil: And that's when I woke up, Li.

Li: That's good, Neil. But now I have a sinking feeling.

Neil: Why is that?

Li: We have been so distracted chatting about your dream that we've missed our train and we will be late for work! Let's run and get a taxi. Bye!

Neil: Bye!

نظرات 1 + ارسال نظر
توماس 17 - آذر‌ماه - 1390 ساعت 07:01 ب.ظ

çok güzel

برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد